Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TH-F6A as a police scanner?  (Read 865 times)
KE7FHL

Ignore
« on: May 08, 2006, 09:05:52 PM »

Newbie here!
  Am I reading the brochure correct.  The Kenwood TH-F6A (and other HT's)have the capability to act as a scanner too?
  Thanks for your time!
WA9SVD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 10:21:11 PM »

The answer is a definite "maybe."  The "DC-to-light" H-T's are prone to intermod interference, which may compromise reception in the Public Service bands.
    In addition, receiver sensitivity and performance of any Amateur Radio receiver is only guaranteed within the Amateur Radio bands, so it may not perform as well as you would wish.
NS6Y_

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2006, 12:56:17 AM »

yes they have "scan" functions, but my understanding is scanners and ham radios work in very different ways..... scanners work in "banks" and you can switch "banks" in and out, these HT's have a scan mode that's more like, scanning through the band and stopping when they hear a signal. You can set up a scanner to scan preset memories say, all the police freqs in your town, I'm not sure if the ham stuff can do that so well, if it can at all.

That being said, the quality of ham stuff is very high, since it has to be good enough to transmit with too. Listening to "utility" stuff on a ham rig is great.

And if you don't have your license, it might be a good inspiration to get yours once you handle some ham gear and listen to some of the neat people and tech discussions on the ham freqs.
K6HH

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2006, 02:31:10 AM »