Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Low CW ouput ICOM 706MKIIG  (Read 214 times)
W1DFU
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« on: June 17, 2006, 08:55:55 AM »

I recently sold an ICOM 706MKIIG and before I shipped it it checked out o.k. in all modes at full power.

Upon arrival on the other end it had full output on SSB and FM. Not sure about AM. It has very low output on CW and the buyer says it appears to have no output on RTTY.

The only change was the new owner installed a 250 Hz. CW filter. He claims the low/no output situation was present before the filter was installed.

Anyone have any thoughts ?

Thanks and 73,

Bert W1DFU
Logged
WD8PTB
Member

Posts: 671




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2006, 09:35:05 AM »

make sure that the quick set menu is set for "H". I'm not sure if cw is a different setting but I know 2m and 440 are seperate settings. The new filter is used on RX only so it should not have any effect. Also make sure he is using a key for cw. Most Icom radios will not key with the button on the mic. There are also set parameters that need to be set for cw. Don WD8PTB
Logged
W1DFU
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2006, 09:44:08 AM »

quick set is set for "H" and he is using the internal keyer and a paddle to
key the rig. Please tell me more about setting CW parameters
Logged
KZ1X
Member

Posts: 3227




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2006, 11:30:39 AM »

How much current is the radio drawing when attempting to transmit?

What is the supply voltage?  

What kind of power supply?

What is the method of connection (what gauge wire, connector type, etc.)?

What is the load being used for the transmitter?

How is the load connected?

On what frequency band is the test being made?  

Is the test being made on the correct antenna port?

How is the power being measured?

Just covering the basics.  Radios are pretty reliable; people are not.
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9839


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2006, 11:31:16 AM »

Tell him to recheck his installation, and to make sure the ribbon cable is correctly inserted. Even if it looks good, tell him to R&R the cable.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

KB4QAA
Member

Posts: 2260




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2006, 11:53:23 AM »

The bit about additional CW power settings sounded familiar, but I checked my manual and didn't find any.  Some of the other Icom radios have multiple CW power settings, I got tripped by that last year at field day.

Make sure this guy is using an external power meter and not the internal display, which is not the most accurate.

good luck, bill
Logged
WD8PTB
Member

Posts: 671




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2006, 05:16:02 PM »

On most Icoms you need to set the CW mode to "full Breakin" or "semi breakin" mode. (I think this is on the M4 menue. If you set breakin to "off" you need to key the radio from the AUX connector ( foot switch or ??) as well as use a key/paddle. Don WD8PTB
Logged
AD5X
Member

Posts: 1426




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2006, 08:36:26 AM »

I have to ask:  Is he measuring key-down cw power?  Or is he looking at a string of dits/dahs on a standard non-peak reading power meter?

Phil - AD5X
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!