Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ic- 706 MKII Power problem  (Read 216 times)
W7TMD
Member

Posts: 26




Ignore
« on: June 16, 2006, 12:14:46 PM »

Hello,
   I have just purchased a used Icom 706MKII and While testing all the modes and functions I found that on Am when I key the mic the power will jump up to full out put 100 watts and then settle back down to the normal setting after a second.It doesent do this all the time but it does happen on all the setting's from 2 to 40 watts and I dont think it jumps to exactly a 100 watts it looks speratic maybe 60 or 75 watts and then settles down to what ever wattage I have it set to.
  My RMS meter's dont even detect it but I can see it on the Icom meter.All the other modes seem to work fine FM SSB CW.So its realy not a big deal but I would like to know if this problem is common or if this might be the beginning of a bigger problem and  if there is a quick fix for this.
  Thanks for any Help on the subject.
73
Tom
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9892




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2006, 01:07:22 PM »

the Ic 706 meter has been documented as worse than bad. it reads weird when warm, cold and sometimes other wise too.

 it may be a spike that the meter is responding to, some rigs put out a full power transient on initial keying. I had a ic 746 take out a 6 meter amp . it was looking for no more than 10 watts and the spike  blew the input circuit.

Logged
W7TMD
Member

Posts: 26




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2006, 11:36:18 PM »

is there a fix for this i dont want to ruin an amp?
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 870


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2006, 02:12:35 AM »

I would check it with a good peak reading external meter. Also, 706's have a peak / avg setting in the menu...
Logged
KB4QAA
Member

Posts: 2298




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2006, 11:10:14 AM »

Use a good external meter.  There have been extensive discussions here in the past about how the 706 meters are NOT precision readout.  Seems like I recall something about time sharing a microprocessor.  Use the search function to find related posts in this forum.

I'm not clear what AM power output you are expecting.  My manual shows 2 -40W HF, 2-20W VHF, and 2-8W UHF.

73,

Bill
Logged
W7TMD
Member

Posts: 26




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2006, 10:09:52 PM »

Iam excpecting normal output.The problem is that the power momentarily spikes at full output even when the power level is set real low.It also does it on RTTY.
Logged
K0CWO
Member

Posts: 416




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2006, 11:43:30 AM »

Type: "icom 706 output spike" into Google.  Quite a bit has been written about this phenomenon.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!