Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Remote Control  (Read 276 times)
K6GC
Member

Posts: 18


WWW

Ignore
« on: April 02, 2001, 01:11:46 AM »

What is the best rig to use with an AEA HamLink HL-60?

WB6TMY@arrl.net
Logged
KD7KHG
Member

Posts: 5




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2001, 03:23:01 AM »

The AEA HL-6 uses TTL (transitor to transistor) logic to communicate with your HF rig. I use the AEA RL-1 on a regular basis and is the same thing as the HL-6 but uses 70cm for the control frequency and 2mtrs to hear what the HF rig is hearing as opposed to calling CQ using your phone line. Best to do this alone if you get my drift. People may think your strange. The HL-6 and Rl-l will not work with any radio that I know of that uses the 9 pin D serial interface port, such as the Kenwood 570 and 870 etc, the logic levels are wrong. I know this cause I have a 570 and tryed about every possible configuation method. Even with a level converter I have never gotton the RL-1 to accept the DTMF commands, or during the programming sequence get it to recognize my TS570SG to have full remote control of tuning, band changes, modes, etc. They do work perfectly with my Kenwood TS450 and the 850. Heres a list of the radios I believe the HL-6 will work with. Older Icoms with TTL logic interface (models unknown) Kenwood TS140, 440, 680, 711, 811, 940, TS50 w/interface option,  TS450, 850, and 950. Yeasu FT-890, 990, FT-747GX, 757GXII, FT1000 I have messed around at length with the RL-1 and made many contacts using a fully programable remote control of my base station (Its like being there but your not there) and the HL-6 looks to be fun as well if you can find them. Both are rare today!  Hope this helps.  Good luck!  
Don  
Logged
N2XIW
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2004, 12:09:59 AM »

The RL-1 was mentioned as being similar to the HL-60
except that the RL-1 is controlled via UHF?

I was wondering what would be involved in getting the HL-60 to be able to be controlled by UHF instead
or via phone line?

As long as its getting tones, it would respond the same?

... also, it might be nice to have a unit that could be controlled via UHF, and then once out of UHF range, have the ability to use a landline.

Any good user groups ( or other resources ) for the AEA Hamlink?

Thanks, RC


Logged
KF6IRK
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2006, 05:03:01 PM »

I just started a user/discussion group on yahoogroups for the "AEA HL-60 HanLink" and the "RL-1 RadioLink" units:

   Group Email Addresses

Post message:    aeahamlink@yahoogroups.com
Subscribe:    aeahamlink-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
Unsubscribe:    aeahamlink-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
List owner:    aeahamlink-owner@yahoogroups.com

Feel free to join in if you have an interest and/or any good suggestions for enhancement to these marvelous devices ...
Logged
KF6IRK
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2006, 05:07:03 PM »

I just started a user/discussion group on yahoogroups for the "AEA HL-60 HanLink" and the "RL-1 RadioLink" units:

   Group Email Addresses

Post message:    aeahamlink@yahoogroups.com
Subscribe:    aeahamlink-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
Unsubscribe:    aeahamlink-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
List owner:    aeahamlink-owner@yahoogroups.com

Feel free to join in if you have an interest and/or any good suggestions for enhancement to these marvelous devices ...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!