Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ft 757GX  (Read 221 times)
W4TZG
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« on: July 18, 2007, 06:23:38 AM »

Ft757gx bought from silent key estate, transmits ok, but no receive audio any band or mode can hear little noise on band...this radio was out of service for 8 years..give me  hint as why no receive audio...thanks
Logged
WA3SKN
Member

Posts: 5457




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 06:28:25 AM »

Do you have audio on a headset?
Possible dirty headphone jack.  Also, sometimes the headphone jack bypasses the final audio amp.
This can help isolate the trouble.

-Mike.
Logged
KB9CRY
Member

Posts: 4284


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 06:55:27 AM »

Antenna connected?

Gain knob maxed?

Squelch off?
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5694




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2007, 07:59:37 AM »

"TX/RX relay is first suspect, contacts may have corroded and need cleaning.

This can and should be done by sliding a piece of common white paper between the relay contacts while holding them lightly together, repeating with clean strips of the paper until the paper comes up clean.

Ordinary white paper like the stuff in your PC printer contains a very fine abrasive. It will polish relay contacts.

If that fails, then suspect the first RF amplifier transistor, typically going to be FET. I doubt that is the case from your description, though. "


Those guys above have great suggestions to try also.



.
Logged
Guest

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2007, 10:33:08 AM »

Hi, after 8 years of non use the inside battery must surely be dead. Replace it and then do a Reset. Very hard to replace that particular battery, lots of luck.  Bill
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5694




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2007, 07:45:57 PM »

Bill makes a good point about the memory battery, see if you can program some memory channels and see if they stick overnight.  


.
Logged
PA3ALF
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2007, 11:58:29 PM »

Check also the lamp fuse in the input circuit of the receiver Sometimes damaged by statics. Battery replacement only needed if display shows 7.000 MHZ on startup.  Battery can best be replaced by cutting the leads above the circuit board and attach a new one by soldering wires to the remaining pins.

Best regards
Jos, PA3ALF
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!