Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Icom IC-2200H for APRS  (Read 7966 times)
KB3QFN

Ignore
« on: March 03, 2008, 09:00:19 PM »

Hi,
I'm new to APRS.  I am planning to but an Icom IC-2200H and OpenTracker for APRS.  Has anyone used the same setup?  Good idea? or bad?
Thanks.
WX7K

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 08:46:56 PM »

I just bought the 2200H and while I don't have APRS running yet, the manual indicates that you can feed the GPS input directly into the 2200H data jack without using the tracker interface.  The ICOM advertising was completely lacking in describing the radio's ability to perform APRS functions.  The radio will automatically transmit APRS information while you are talking/monitoring other frequencies.  It will even display APRS position information on incoming packets, but you have to manually select this function.

Newell
AJ4DW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2008, 12:54:52 PM »

The price on an Icom IC-2200H ($140) would be great for a transceiver that could connect directly to a GPS unit... BUT... the blurb on Universal Radio is misleading. If you check out the info on the Icom website - http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/mobile/2200h/default.aspx - they mention APRS functionality only in the paragraph labeled "Optional digital unit UT-118", becasue you have to buy the optional board for it to do any digital stuff (including APRS), the UT-118 is almost $250.

If I'm wrong, please correct me, because I'd LOVE to buy an APRS-ready mobile unit for $140.

73 de Carl AJ4DW
KG4RUL

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2008, 02:33:35 PM »

From the IC-2200 manual: