Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I interfere my neighbour's sat receiver  (Read 601 times)
SV1ENG
Member

Posts: 8




Ignore
« on: January 10, 2007, 01:08:25 PM »

Hello,
I am radio amateur since 1996 and work my station
in my apartment, in a 5 floor building for 10 years.
The 15 apts watch TV using a central tv antenna system and I do not interfere them, even when use my amlifier.
I have a dipole for 40 and 80m, an HF6V and a 3 band dipole over my tower.
A few months ago, a neighbour installed a sat antenna and since then I have interference problems to solve.
One to two meters from the sat antenna I placed a second sat antenna beaming on the same satelite (Hotbird). I connected my sat receiver and began to tx. There was not any TVI/RFI on my receiver!!! Then I connected his cable to my antenna and the problem reduced but still exist.
The problem exists no matter which of my antennas tx.
Please, your help! Since then I can only wake up 1-2 hours earlier in the morning and work when he sleeps!
Logged
KA5N
Member

Posts: 4380




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2007, 01:33:35 PM »

I suspect that the problem is either in the TV set or in the cabling in the house (a bad cable connection somewhere).  A loose shield can cause a lot of problems.  The other thing that is a possibility is if the RF modulator is used (rather than video and audio) your RF might be getting into that(or into the TV).  Usually channel 3 is used, is it possible to switch to channel 4?  One of the neat things about satelite TV is that nothing much interfers with it (except heavy rainstorms).
Good Luck Allen
Logged
KF4PJH
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2007, 06:14:17 PM »

I would check the coax connectors... as was suggested.. I  would chat with him and see what channels you get into.. check harmonics with where your operating...
he might have a splitter somewhere is its not connected well or brokedown..  good luck
Logged
KC8VWM
Member

Posts: 3189




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2007, 06:53:06 PM »

Another thing to observe is what bands cause the problem and what bands don't.

For example, the feed line between the dish to his receiver might be resonate and acting as a recieving antenna for the particular band you are operating.

Try changing the length of the feedline by adding a longer patch cord between the reciver and the TV set etc.

Also be sure the dish is well grounded.

I would rule out the feedline and then start looking at the reciever and other components inside. For example, if there is a VCR daisy chained and connected between the sat reciever and the TV set, then try eliminating the VCR  and see if anything changes.

73 de Charles - KC8VWM
Logged
K4III
Member

Posts: 205


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2007, 01:58:04 PM »

Check whether he is using a grounded TV power cable or whether he is using a filtered power strip or surge protector. Are you? Something must be different! Does his TV get inteference with your Sat plugged into it?

Logged
SV1ENG
Member

Posts: 8




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2008, 07:29:38 AM »

it is more than a year since I opened this topic
and the problem (the neighbour + the tvi) still exists!

During this period I upgraded my station with the
kenwood LF-30A low pass filter.
It did a good job but the problem didn't disappear at all.

This afternoon I had a call with a tech
at buxcomm company and I made a few questions
about the isolator they make.
This guy told me that the sat receivers
have a 72mhz IF!
That is! 14*5=70MHz.

I already made a new sat coaxial cable instalation
(for my own sat receiver)
absolutely in parallel with my coaxial from my radio
to the antenna. So as the 2 cables are installed
so close, my sat system is more sensitive.
I noticed that I also have a problem on 20m band also.

Any idea?

Thanks for the replies I have already receive! 73.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!