Starter shack equipment, swr meter?

(1/2) > >>

Brian Atkins:
I'm brand new to ham world, and just passed the tech and general tests.  I have a little VX-1R HT as my first radio to get my feet wet, and want to put up a 2 meter homebrew antenna.  However, I don't have any way to measure SWR at this point.

What are my options for measuring SWR inexpensively?  I have heard that a CB SWR meter, in reverse, will measure 2 meters ok.  There are cheaper SWR meters for HF (RS, MFJ, etc.), but can they be used to safely tune antennae for 2 meters (and what about higher)?.

After an SWR meter, a homebrew antenna, it will definitely be time to ponder HF alternatives, and perhaps a more powerful VHF/UHF mobile rig.  But, that'll likely be sometime down the road.

Any advise, pointers, or general clues would be most welcome!

Thanks!
Batkins61

Stephen L Crook:
An MFJ-822 crossed needle meter or similar will cover HF, 6m & 2m for change back on $60 new. See: http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/meters/4827.html

Charles P. Cohen:
If you build a 2m "ground-plane vertical", based on a UHF chassis connector, and use the standard dimensions, you won't need a VHF SWR meter.  It's easy to build with a large soldering iron or very small torch, and easy to mount.

That antenna is on the Web at:

http://www.hamuniverse.com/2metergp.html

Or, you could put up a 2m vertical dipole, fed by coax, each leg 19.5" long -- that'll work fine too.

Save the money for an HF station.   Or buy a copy (new or used, current or old) of the ARRL Antenna Book or Radio Amateur's Handbook, which has scads of pre-tested, dimensioned antennas, and will explain why you can't rely on an SWR meter outside its designed frequencies.

Charles

Darrin: