Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TPL COMMUNICATIONS VHF AMPLIFIER  (Read 3862 times)
KB9YKN
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: March 27, 2005, 05:03:23 PM »

I just bought a  TPL COMMUNICATIONS VHF AMPLIFIER 70watt amp  but not here yet was want to know the specs. and any other info any one has about this amp..what it might draw for amp and such..
ty
KB9YKN
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9899


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2005, 09:34:39 AM »

If it is the commercial version, you're going to have to retune it. You'll need a dummy load, two directional wattmeters, and a schematic.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20666




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2005, 09:36:51 AM »

Need the model number to tell anything about it.

TPL's made hundreds of different "VHF AMPLIFIERS" over many years, and they have all different specifications.  Most are Class C amplifiers, not linear amplifiers, intended for commercial FM service only (won't work on SSB-AM-etc).

WB2WIK/6
Logged
KB9YKN
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2005, 11:36:27 AM »

this is all the info i have in it....

TPL COMMUNICATIONS VHF AMPLIFIER 136 TO 175 MHZ. 10W IN FOR 70W OUT

here the link to it on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5762103133&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1
Logged
KB9YKN
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2005, 11:36:42 AM »

this is all the info i have in it....

TPL COMMUNICATIONS VHF AMPLIFIER 136 TO 175 MHZ. 10W IN FOR 70W OUT

here the link to it on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5762103133&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20666




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2005, 12:56:25 PM »

Not enough info.  

You might consult TPL themselves <http://www.tplcom.com> and see if you can match up the look of the amplifier to the appropriate product model or family.

If the seller provided the model number from the serial number plate on the amplifier, that would be enough information, but evidently he did not.  If the product is missing the plate, I wouldn't buy it at any price.

WB2WIK/6
Logged
WILLY
Member

Posts: 286




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2005, 01:44:12 PM »

 
by WB2WIK on March 28, 2005    Mail this to a friend!

"...
If the seller provided the model number from the serial number plate on the amplifier, that would be enough information, but evidently he did not."

Either they just changed the listing on eBay, or maybe you didn't check the link he provided.  

At:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5762103133&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1

a close-up picture came right up.

Model number looks to be 702.

Mode may say FM, but that is difficult to see.


Something must be amiss, since the original poster did not mention this info after it was mentioned that it was needed.

73
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20666




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2005, 01:56:10 PM »

"WILLY" you're right, I didn't even look.

Now, I did, and the pic is very clear.  This is an old TPL "Econo Line" model (no longer made), and it requires 13.8Vdc at 10 Amperes (rated).

This is indeed an "FM only" (Class C) amplifier, as are all their current products.

I don't recall when TPL discontinued the EconoLine stuff, but it was several years ago.

WB2WIK/6
Logged
KB9YKN
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2005, 01:59:53 PM »

Ok ty that what i need to know was the amps it took to run it...and how old...
The pic didnt load when i first saw it...

Is that a goo price i paid for it 46.00 are they worth more or less?

thakns to all
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20666




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2005, 03:38:46 PM »

Impossible to say what it's worth without testing it.

If it works per specification and provides the proper output, and the internal T-R relay functions properly, etc, then it's a good deal for $46 -- probably worth about $75.

If it doesn't, then any price paid is too much...

WB2WIK/6
Logged
W9GB
Member

Posts: 2659




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2005, 03:06:28 PM »

Yes, It should have the 4-pin Jones plug for 13.8 VDC.  I had one of these mobile for a couple years - I also had the book from TPL - but sold both several years ago.  

Put it on the bench and retuned it from VHF commercial (around 155 MHz) to the 2-meter amateur band.

w9gb
Logged
KB9YKN
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2005, 11:08:33 AM »

Ty for the info on this amp..Got on ? theres a toggle switch on the front that im not sure what i does..it not a hi-low or a on off..when i flip it it pull a few more amp i looks like the power suply dimmis a tad and the watt drop from 70 to 67 watts..any ideas?

ty
KB9YKN
Logged
KB1LKR
Member

Posts: 1898




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2005, 06:29:12 PM »

Here's a link for the manual (702, 702B, C702 & C702B) for $8 (+ $3.50 S/H):
http://www.manualmall.com/TE_ZC.html

Though maybe you'll do better contacting TPL directly:

TPL Communications
3370 San Fernando Road, #206
Los Angeles, CA 90065-1437
323-256-3000
800-447-6937
FAX: 323-254-3210
http://www.tplcom.com/
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!