Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Astron RS-35M Amp Meter Lamp  (Read 1569 times)
W5JLF
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« on: January 28, 2009, 04:28:09 PM »

Gentlemen,

I have an Astron RS-35M Power Supply that has a burned out ( I assume) pilot lamp in the Amp Meter.  I removed the meter enough to see that it is a sealed unit.  How do I replace the lamp?

Thanks,
Joe, W5JLF
Logged
W6BR
Member

Posts: 59




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 05:05:59 PM »

There ain't no bulb there!! :-)

73,

Ron, W6BR
Logged
KA2UUP
Member

Posts: 388




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 07:57:16 AM »

There are no bulbs in the 35M.  I know.  I have one.
Logged
KA2UUP
Member

Posts: 388




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 08:11:41 AM »

There are no bulbs in the 35M.  I know.  I have one.
Logged
NA0AA
Member

Posts: 1042




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 10:14:37 AM »

I was thinking:  My RS-50 lamps NEVER worked then....

You could get post style floods like those on old style light planes and mount them on the front panel - it'd look very old school.
Logged
W0FM
Member

Posts: 2057




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2009, 10:52:54 AM »

Depending on the meter used in your specific RS35M run, some guys have taken to strategically placing white LED's near the meter edge or behind the meter face if it is translucent.

I am thinking about doing that to my Astron.

73 de Terry, WØFM
Logged
W5JLF
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2009, 06:08:59 PM »

Gentlemen,

I talked to Tech Support at Astron this afternoon.  I was advised that there are two (2) lamps in each meter.  These lamps are connected in series.  Therefore, if one blows they both go out.  He also said that in order to replace the lamps you would need to separate the meter at its glue joints and then disassemble the area containing the lamps.  I asked him if he could send me two lamps and he said NO because he felt sure that I would be calling him back in a few days requesting a new meter (approx $20.00).  I asked him if I could turn off the lamps in the other meter by disconnecting the red wire at the bottom of the meter and he said yes.  So, I now have a RS-35M with two working meters and no lamps burning in both.

Thanks for all your input.

Joe, W5JLF
Logged
VA3DXV
Member

Posts: 108


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2009, 11:56:50 AM »

There seems to be some debate here... I purchased my RS-35M brand new, maybe 3 years ago. Neither meter has ever lit up. But this is not the first time I've read someone saying theirs has factory lamps... http://www.eham.net/forums/ModsAndRepairs/7960

I guess I got jipped!
Logged
KD8DEY
Member

Posts: 352




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2009, 04:07:35 PM »

My 35m  never had meter lights from day 1 so mine is either

A- blown from the factory
or

b a newer version that doesn't com with lighted
meters.

C they never came with lighted meters Smiley
time to ask the horses mouth



Logged
KD8DEY
Member

Posts: 352




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2009, 01:34:03 PM »

Re: 35m supply
Tuesday, February 3, 2009 2:04 PM
From:
This sender is DomainKeys verified
"Astron" <astroncorporation@yahoo.com>
Add sender to Contacts
To:
kd8dey@yahoo.com
The light cannot be replaced. He would have to replace the meter. The meter is $18.00 plus $8.00 shipping.
 
Thank you,
Wendy

--- On Mon, 2/2/09, Robert Anderson <kd8dey@yahoo.com> wrote:


    From: Robert Anderson <kd8dey@yahoo.com>
    Subject: 35m supply
    To: astroncorporation@yahoo.com
    Date: Monday, February 2, 2009, 4:11 PM

    Can anybody there chime in on this?

    http://www.eham.net/forums/Elmers/209731

    73
    Robert

Apparently I was Supposed to have lighted meters and never knew it.

So much for quality control since I doubt as heavy as the supply is,That it would not have shown damage to the case if it had been dropped hard enough to blow out one of those tiny bulbs mounted inside a meter
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!