Globe Champion 300 Transmitter

(1/5) > >>

Gary L. Carson:
Hi--
This is my first time here....Bought a Globe Champion 300 on Ebay to use for vintage AM use. Seller didn't know any history on it, as usual. Cleaned it up as much as possible, replaced all electrolytic and paper caps (except the big oil-filled HV filter cap) with new parts. Noticed signs of arcing from the 866A rectifier sockets to the chassis, so I replaced the sockets with new ones that don't use retaining rings. I mounted them so as to provide a little more space between the conductors and the chassis.

Powered it up, then had to replace a relay that was buzzing. Oscillator/exciter stage seems to be working, can be heard on receiver. Proceeded to try to tune it up into a dummy load. a few seconds after the HV is turned on, the filament pins on the rectifier sockets arc to ths chassis, over about a 1/4 inch path. Time to check a few more things.

I don't yet have a meter that will safely read the HV directly to see what  it is climbing to. Am going to attempt to test the value of the big filter capacitor to see if it has changed over the years. I have a Fluke DMM that can measure capacitance, will try that.

I am fairly new to boatanchors, and don't own a lot of test equipment, at least not yet. I also don't have the experience that many hams do when it comes to older gear. I am learning as I go, and being very careful with the HV stuff. I don't want to destroy any hard-to-get parts by powering this rig up until I can find the source of this problem.

Was wondering if any of you have encountered this problem before. I know That I can eventually track it down, but am open to any input as to the solution. Would appreciate any advice you all might be able to give.
Thanks;
Gary

Allen C. Ward: