About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: NEW GUY  (Read 506 times)
MIKEW

Ignore
« on: August 10, 2009, 06:18:00 PM »

WELL IM NOT EXACTLY N E W  IM 66 YEARS OLD AND STUDYING FOR MY TECH WHICK I TAKE SAT AUG 15. MY QUESTION IS WHAT RADIO SHOULD A GUY LIKE ME (I HAVE SOME ELECTONICS BACKGROUND) BUY AND WHAT ANTENNA WOULD YOU RECCOMMEND . I LIVE ON A FARM AND I HAVE A NICE SHOP TO PUT MY RIG IN BUT I DONT WANT TO SPEND THOUSANDS ( AT THE START)

MANY THANKS

MIKE
N0YXB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 06:29:00 PM »

Check out the Yaesu FT-450.  A lot of bang for the buck if you spend time getting to know it.  Since you have space, try a wire antenna or two.  Perhaps a doublet and/or loop.
W4KPA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2009, 08:16:23 PM »

An IC-706 mk2g will serve you very well as a Tech licensee, and then give you plenty of HF fun if you decide to upgrade.  New ones are about $800 plus or minus, and there are thousands floating around on the used market.  The Yaesu FT-857D is a very similar radio which also has a good reputation.

Antennas sort of depend on your budget.  A good dual-band, omni-directional vertical antenna will take care of your vhf/uhf FM needs, and will make a good starting place.  Check out the reviews here on eham for some ideas.  A three-element six meter yagi, and perhaps a similar antenna for ten meters might also be good investments, although you may want to hold off on the ten meter yagi if you plan on going for a General ticket any time soon.  In that case, you may want to wait and buy some kind of multi-band yagi for hf.

I'm not sure where your farm is located, but if activity levels in your area are high enough, you might want to consider some kind of horizontal antennas for VHF/UHF single sideband operation.

Good luck, and enjoy the station building process.  It's one of the best parts of this hobby.

Bruce
W4KPA
KB3RHV

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2009, 10:40:28 PM »