The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How long is a typical welfare message?  (Read 1714 times)
N7USR

Ignore
« on: December 14, 2006, 09:16:40 PM »

I am still learning packet but had this question.

How many lines, or characters, is the typical welfare message?

I have seen the NTS format for messages but have not seen any information regarding how many characters, words, or lines can be contained within one message. I understand that several messages could be pieced together if necessary.

Can anyone shed some light on this subject?

Thanks and 73's de GReg  N7USR

W0IPL

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2006, 12:25:24 AM »

http://www.coloradoares.org/NTS.htm

"If possible" restrict the word count to a maximum of twenty five.

http://www.arrl.org/FandES/field/nts-mpg/
KG4RUL

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2006, 06:07:31 AM »

Per the Public Service Communication Manual (PSCM), Appendix B NTS MPG-Message Format:

Page 1-13, Para 1.3 TEXT PART:

The text is divided in word "groups", five or ten to a line for easy counting, and is usually limited to 25 words or less.

This practice is reflected in both the example message forms depicted in the PSCM and the ARRL Radiogram Form.  Additionally, for the specific purpose of passing Health and Welfare traffic, a form utilizing ARL Codes is available.

The following related documents are availabe from the ARRL Web Site: http://www.arrl.org/FandES/field/forms/

ARRL Radiogram Form - Two versions available in PDF format:
    * Original version (2 copies on a page)
    * Printer friendly version (no black stripe on form)

FSD-3: ARRL Numbered Radiograms - Includes both relief emergency and routine message radiograms, in addition to the precedences to use in emergency, priority, welfare and routine situations.