Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tips needed for learning CW!  (Read 2686 times)
KC8NWX

Ignore
« on: June 30, 2000, 08:04:29 PM »

Does anyone have any usefull tips for learning CW? I'm a tech now, but I want to first pass my Element 1 test, then progress into speeds necessary for decent communications.

BTW, I don't have an HF radio at the moment, and don't have access to a SW receiver. What do you think of the ARRL CD's, and various computer programs?

Any tips for how many characters to practice at a time, how often, when to move on to new characters, etc? Help a relatively new ham move into the world of CW!

Dave
KC8NWX
AC7CF

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2000, 12:05:39 PM »

Dave,
     I would recommend the CodeQuick software.  You can buy it at: http://www.cq2k.com/ I used this software and within 2 months of using it, I passed my 20 WPM test.  Some people will tell you the method it uses won't allow you to go very fast, but I am approaching speeds of 35 WPM in just 4 months on the air.  I still "hear" the sound-alikes used in CodeQuick, but don't really think about them.  The code just translates to letters and words automatically in my brain.  I believe CodeQuick is about 35 dollars.  I think you should give it a try.

Andrew AC7CF
AA1UZ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2000, 06:47:18 PM »

I highly reconmend CodeQuick 2000.  Within 10 days of studying I went from knowing very little code to almost solid copy at 5wpm.  Within a month I was copying 13wpm.  A month after passing my 13wpm test I passed my 20wpm exam for extra.

Drew
AA1UZ
KA9ZBN

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2000, 10:43:08 PM »

I like the ARRL CDs for learning the characters and increasing my speed.  They use the Farnsworth method of 18 WPM character speed and exaggerated character spacing for speeds below 20 WPM.  The following URL