Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Novice record?  (Read 582 times)
KA5AQP

Ignore
« on: January 11, 2003, 09:04:24 AM »

I was a Novice for 24 years and 5 months before upgrading.  Anyone longer than that?
WA4MJF

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2003, 09:26:12 PM »

Well, Walter Cronkite is a Novice and
has an early KB2 call if anyone knows
when they were issued.

73 de Ronnie

KA5AQP

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2003, 06:01:08 PM »

When I got my ticket they were just starting the current type of call sign sequence, so I would assume Walter's KB2 to be later.  Just a guess.
WA4PTZ

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2003, 05:58:35 AM »

I really think you need to find a life and upgrade to
at least a General Class but I suppose that would
require some effort on your part. Being a Novice for
that period of time tells us a lot about you.
Especially , that we don't want to know more.
- Tim
WA9SVD

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2003, 09:58:21 PM »

WHOA!  Chill out, guy(s)!  SO the fellow was a long term Novice.  That might simply mean he had other priorities (work, FAMILY, etc.) that prevented him from  devoting time to Amateur Radio.  (At least he kept his license current!)  Or maybe he was satisfied with Novice privileges.  He's now a Tech (actually, Tech Plus) and that's nothing to be ashamed of, either!  I was a Tech for 35 years, before upgrading, simply because I was satisfied with operating on VHF, and had no great desire to operate on HF.  Now as an Extra, I still operate more VHF SSB (6M and above) than HF.  IMHO, weak signal VHF is a lot more fun, and requires more skill than HF operations.  I'll take a good 6M opening over all the HF bands combined, ANYTIME.  Of course, your mileage may vary.
KA5AQP

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2003, 04:51:56 PM »