Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Operating TS830s  (Read 661 times)
M1BPY
Member

Posts: 7


WWW

Ignore
« on: August 31, 2003, 06:05:13 AM »

Hello

I'm a pround owner of a Trio 803s transceiver. I'm not familiar with how to operate the rig (in particular preparing the valves for transmission) and would be really grateful if a fellow Ham would mail me with a "wally" guide to this please.  I have an ATU arriving tomorrow and would love to get on air asap.

Is there someone out there who can help please?

regards

David Dixey UK  M1BPY
Logged
M1BPY
Member

Posts: 7


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2003, 06:29:44 AM »

sorry, i do of course mean 830s, not 803s.

DD
Logged
N8UZE
Member

Posts: 1524




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2003, 08:53:43 AM »

You should be able to find a manual online for this model if you do an internet search.
Logged
M1BPY
Member

Posts: 7


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2003, 09:01:41 AM »

hi

thanks for replying.

sorry, i should have made myself clearer. i have the manual, but i'm a
little green and need it explained a little better. i've been licensed since
1997 but have never had use of a valve rig (or HF for that matter).

can you help?

Dave
Logged
N8UZE
Member

Posts: 1524




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2003, 10:56:13 AM »

I think that translates to tubes.  Unfortunately I can't help you as I've never had a tube rig.  The best thing to do would be to find an experienced amateur in your area to help you in person.
Logged
YV5MBX
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2003, 04:58:59 PM »

David,

Yo got an extraordinary rig specially it´s ability to pcikup signals in high noise environments as low bands, if in the future you want to improve you conditions just add a Timewave DSP-9 (one of the oldest and cheapest).

I´ll try to help you, please don´t hesitate to contact me for further info.

1.- Put the radio in Tune position, that means less current applied to the final tubes.

2.- Select the band you want to work with

3.- Move the plate knob as close as you can to the band you want to work with.

3.- Carrier button a quarter in clockwise position.

4.- Move the Carrier button slowly until you got the highest signal level

4.- Select ALC at the button closer to the S-Meter

5.- Move the load button and plate button trying to deflect the s-meter

6.- The meter must not go further than ALC read line at the S-meter

7.- Select IP at the button closer to the s-meter
As the S-meter trends to cero (left side) you are putting more power, at some point the S-meter will try to go to the right so you are minimizing the power, alway try to put as left side of the meter.

Once achieve you are ready to go.

8.- Move the button from Tune to CW, and repeat from step 5, once achieve the minimun IP value you are ready to go.

9.- Keep in mind that the rig didn´t load with the same power in all bands, with a perfect matched antenna you will get about 80 watts in 10 mts & 110 in 160 mts.

10.- Don´t try to by-pass the pre-tuning steps using the TUNE button, doing so you will decrement the life of the valves.

Hope this help.

Hope to QSL with you at any time.

73's de Javier
YV5MBX
Logged
M1BPY
Member

Posts: 7


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2003, 02:02:21 PM »

Thanks for the information !  Hope to "work" you soon.

regards

Dave Dixey  M1BPY.
Logged
WA2CWA
Member

Posts: 305


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2003, 02:33:54 AM »

On the 830, always remember to PDL (Peak, Dip, Load). If you follow the operating instructions for tune up, you should have no problems. Use a 100 or 150 watt lamp as a dummy load to get a visual indicator has to what's happening during the tune up procedure. Once you feel comfortable in the tune up procedures, hook up your antenna.

Pete, WA2CWA
www.manualman.com
Logged
M1BPY
Member

Posts: 7


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2003, 01:12:29 PM »

Thanks Pete

hope to work you sometime.

Dave  (M1BPY)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!