Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: hello, all I'm new to this stuff  (Read 599 times)
FRANKM12

Ignore
« on: October 18, 2003, 01:13:35 AM »

Dear Forum,

I'm ready to buy some equipment soon and will be limited considerably.  Last year I bought an HT and it didn't do a thing for me.  I got rid of it.  I just passed the test a while back.

I'm in just about the worst situation for transmitting and receiving.  I'm in a holler down by the vast St. John's prarire in Florida.

My question is this:  If I get a mobile rig with 50 watts or so, will it work much better than the HT due to the increased wattage?  Do mobile antennaes have some groundwave characteristics that will allow me to transmitt and recieve better than the HT?

At this point I just want something that will work so I can get started and start ragchewing and worry about the rest later on.
Thanks in advance.
frank
N8UZE

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2003, 08:48:26 AM »

How far are you trying to communicate?  How much antenna are you going to put up?  Do you just want to chat via repeaters or operate simplex?  Are you interested in FM only or other modes?

Basically the most important piece of equipment is the antenna.  If you have a beam antenna that is 75 feet in the air, even a 5 watt HT can work impressive distances (50 or 60 miles).  If you just have a low antenna such as a vertical on your car roof, your distance, while better with 50 watts than an HT will not be particularly spectacular (maybe 20 miles if the receiving antenna is high enough).

If you want to work out beyond these ranges, you will need to get at least a General class license (or add code to your Technician) and operate HF.
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2003, 11:50:27 AM »

I agree the antenna does all the work and is far more important than the equipment.