Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: First Radio  (Read 395 times)
KC2NIK

Ignore
« on: September 16, 2004, 09:01:00 AM »

As a newly licensed Ham operator I have one issue that I have been fighting with.  First Radio.  I am a technician class as of now I am going to get my CW and general license ASAP.  I am intersted in HF but of course I cannot use HF until I get my general.  I have looked at a wide variety of radios and the following are 4 I have considered.  I want a radio that is going to sit on a desk in my house not an HT.  I would appreciate any views on these radios listed and any other suggestions.  Thanks in Advance.

Icom IC-R75
Icom IC-718
Icom IC-706MKIIG
and
Yaesu FT-897D

Thanks again
KC2NIK
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2004, 11:21:52 AM »

Congrats on the new license and good luck with the General.

You listed one receiver and three transceivers, which is a big like listing three different fruits plus a houseplant: Very different.  The R-75's only a receiver; the other three are transceivers (they can transmit and make contacts, while the R-75 can only listen).

The IC-718 is likely your best bet as a "home station" rig for a new operator because it's the easiest to use of the three and also physically largest, making the knobs a bit bigger and easier to adjust.  It also probably has the lowest cost of the three, which will allow you to budget more for *ANTENNAS*, and antennas are by far the most important part of your -- or any -- station.

Then, the IC-706 and FT-897 cover VHF-UHF bands, which the IC-718 does not.  So, that may be worth consideration.