Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wiring "EuroPlug" 2 prong 250 volt plug  (Read 1533 times)
VE7ALQ
Member

Posts: 349




Ignore
« on: May 13, 2005, 02:26:02 PM »

Hi!  I got an Alinco DM330MV power supply which has
been converted to 220 VAC 50 Hz, and which I intend
to use to power my Icom ic706mkiig when I am in Israel
or elsewhere in Europe.  I have in my possession an
"EuroPlug" two prong 250 volt plug.  The Alinco supply
only has a two wire AC cord attached to it, so the
absence of a "ground" connection in the "EuroPlug" is
not a liability.  Now for my question.  I see no
mechanism for attaching the power cord to the Europlug
and am wondering if I am supposed to use solder to
effect the connection?  Could someone please enlighten
me?

I am also a bit worried about the 2.5 Amp limit on
the EuroPlug, even though the voltage is 220 VAC.
The Alinco DM330MV specifies a 4 Amp fuse for 220 VAC
Is this a significant issue?
Logged
KB1LKR
Member

Posts: 1898




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2005, 04:14:16 PM »

The CEE7/16 "Europlug" (two 4.8mm pins on 19 mm centers) is indeed intended for 220/230V ungrounded applications drawing less than 2.5A (I believe the limitation is the wire gauge, not the plug itself If the DM330MV does indeed draw more than 2.5A at 230V, you should use a grounding continental European CEE7/7 (or 7/4, unless France/Belgium compatibility is needed) a.k.a. "Schuko" style, as these are a 16A/230V plug (though the wire gauge may limit it to anything between 2.5A and 16A, and just not employ the grounding wire.

See: http://www.interpower.com/icl/guide.htm for more plug/socket/voltage/freq info.

That's a 30A peak switcher, right? So at 80% efficiency and 30A at 13.8V output that would be 2.3A input it 230V, and presumabily you are not going to be operating it at 100% of rating so input should be somewhat lower, so the Europlug cord should be fine (unless you're in an area of Israel using angled blade grounding SI-32 plugs instead.
Logged
VE7ALQ
Member

Posts: 349




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2005, 04:39:01 PM »

Yes, I currently have my Alinco dm330mv set to
220 VAC and have the correct Israeli plug on
the end of its (two conductor) line cord.
Needless to say, the ground prong isn't doing
anything useful, and since I am a lazy animal
and don't feel like replacing the entire line
cord with a three wire cord, I decided to try
the EuroPlug.  One advantage of the EuroPlug
over the 16 amp Israeli version is that the
EuroPlug will work all over (continental)
Europe as well as the Middle East.  Israeli
plugs have deliberatly inserted round holes
in two strategic places so the EuroPlug fits.
I had visions of perhaps taking my Icom
ic706mkiig with me should I have to go to
Europe, and it would be nice if the power
supply just plugged into the wall and that
was that - no adapters, etc.

I idly wonder what Icom is up to at Dayton?
Logged
VE7ALQ
Member

Posts: 349




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2005, 05:08:33 PM »

The Alinco DM330MV is rated up to 30 amps continuous
at up to 15 volts DC.  I will be running it drawing
a maximum of 20 amps intermittent at 13.8 volts DC.
The Alinco DM330MV comes with an 8 amp fuse for
117 VAC and a 4 amp fuse for 220 VAC, and a thick two
conductor line cord.  There is no particular desire
on my part to change the line cord, because I am a
lazy animal, but if I have to in order to get 220 VAC
I would prefer a three prong 'Israeli' plug with its
inherent safe ground rather than going to a thinner
line cord which will fit inside the prongs of an
"EuroPlug".  I do not envision travelling much, but
if I do, it "would be nice" if I could tote the Icom
ic706mkiig, the Alinco dm330mv power supply, and the
Icom AT-180 fully automatic antenna tuner with me and
all would work "just right" out of the box.

p.s. I have both the Israeli Plug and the EuroPlug
here with me in the shack, and currently the three
prong Israeli Plug is connected to the Alinco power
supply.  The "Ground" prong goes nowhere, and I don't
like this very much.  Three conductor line cord
should not be expensive, so I could migrate in that
direction if I feel that an ungrounded Israeli Plug
is a safety hazard.  The Israeli Plug has a 16 amp
rating on it, and the EuroPlug has a 2.5 amp rating.
Logged
VE7ALQ
Member

Posts: 349




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2005, 09:48:38 AM »

I gave up on the "EuroPlug" and sent the Alinco dm330mv back to the toy store that sold it to me.  They have instructions to remove the two conductor line cord and replace it with three conductor line cord, hook up the "Israeli Plug" and wire as per my instructions.  I know for a fact that the "Israeli Plug" works in Israel, which is where I intend to go (G-d willing).  I also know that the Israeli Plug is rated at 250 VAC and 16 Amps.  This is way more current than I need - the Alinco dm330mv power supply manual mandates a four ampere fuse when operated at 230 VAC.
Logged
TOPAVIATOR
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2005, 02:53:44 AM »

Hi there, you mentioned that you have 'Converted' the ALINCO DM-330MV to 220volt. How did you do it? as I just purchased one from the US and when I received it I need mine to with 220/230 volt. Pls kindly advise.
Many thanks /Jim
Logged
VE7ALQ
Member

Posts: 349




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2005, 03:47:28 AM »

My dealer says, if you open up the power supply, there is a toggle switch that selects either 117 VAC or 330 VAC  Apparently this switch is rather obvious and not easy to miss.  My dealer opened it up and threw the switch.

I also recommend that if you want Israeli plugs, visit

http://www.interpower.com

Somewhat pricey, but they have everything you could want.

Part 88040030 is a two-pronged Europlug. works in Israel
Part 88010780 (which I recommend) three prong Israel plug

Please note that the DM330MVT comes with a two conductor line cord, without a safety ground and that you cannot properly attach the Part 88010780 three prong plug unless you get a three conductor line cord.  Cordsets are also available http://www.interpower.com

You can contact InterPower at 1-800-662-2290
Logged
VE7ALQ
Member

Posts: 349




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2005, 06:59:37 AM »

Oops!  I should have said that after you open up your DM330MVT you will find an obvious Switch which when thrown will toggle between 117 VAC and 234 VAC.  The figure of 330 VAC I gave in my previous post is in error!

Again, if looking for plugs http://www.interpower.com should have everything you could conceivably want, including not just plugs but made up cordsets, sockets, etc. as well as downloadable Adobe Acrobat files which design nodes describing how to wire the plugs and what their specs are.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!