Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: First HF antenna questions  (Read 525 times)
N3VMC

Ignore
« on: April 07, 2007, 07:16:11 AM »

Hello all,

Ive been looking for a good HF antenna for my newly purchased row home. Ive been looking at different types and manufactures but I cant really nail down what I would want to spend my $$$ on. Any ideas? I am still a Tech with a newly acquired Ten Tec Delta II and I am in the process of studying for my General. My house is a typical flat roof row home (80+ years old) and is 14'x45'. I do have a backyard also...about 30' to the back driveway.

Any ideas or comments are greatly appreciated!

Vince
N3VMC
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2007, 07:36:36 AM »

That gives you 47 feet from corner to corner. That's enough space for a 40M dipole. One inexpensive option would be to put a support mast in each corner and put up a 40m/20m/15M/10M trapped dipole. You could also go with a fan dipole (multiple elements, one for each band).

Other options would include a loop around the building or a trapped vertical in the center (one that doesn't need radials).
N3VMC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2007, 08:00:17 AM »

I was looking at a few verticals...maybe an R8 or similar.

Oh I forgot to include the MFJ Tuner also.
W2RDD

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2007, 08:13:28 AM »

Nice flat roof could be a home for doublet fed with twin lead thru a transmatch. Probably 10 thru 40 meters. Elevate the ends as much as possible.
N3VMC

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2007, 08:41:45 AM »

Hoe about a folded dipole? The B&W 45 covers 40 down to 10 and 6mand is only 45 feet. I could mount it flat.
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2007, 09:08:36 AM »