Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Antenna Rotor does not turn  (Read 510 times)
SCUBA

Ignore
« on: July 06, 2007, 09:37:18 PM »

If beams could enter beauty contests, this would be Miss Universe.

Background - Neighbor a few blocks away, stacked beam on a tower.  The lower horizontal beam radials look like minature pitch forks on the ends, or maybe like minature j poles; he's got another beam on top, and a bunch of other antennas around.  

I've been driving by there for several years, and the beam has never turned; always pointed the same dir.  

So, what comes to mind is to knock on the door maybe and tactfully ask if he wants to sell his tower and beams, etc.  On the other hand, I might piss the guy if he infers that I'm being disrespectful. So, I'm  trying to figure out how to ask.

Have any of you other readers run across similiar situations?  

KE3WD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2007, 10:04:41 PM »

Well, I wouldn't ask right away when the door opened.

"Hiya doin', you a ham, I'm a ham, man, those antennas you got and that tower ought to really work some DX..."

Lead into it, maybe the person at the door will volunteer the information you are looking for.  

As for the beam always pointing one direction, well, I've known some old guys who leave it pointing at their favorite net or ragchew.  They've worked all everything and don't chase anymore.  

But you will never know unless you go ring the doorbell and shake hands.  

Good thing to know yer neighbors anyway, we need to get back to that kind of thing IMO.  

Luck,

ONAIR

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2007, 10:34:41 PM »

There was a guy where I onced lived a while back who had a beam that also never moved.  Turned out he was a CBer who used it to talk to his brother in the next state via ground wave.
K9KJM

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2007, 10:46:09 PM »