The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie in search of 1st Radio: Special Purpose...  (Read 1330 times)
DUALMONITORS

Ignore
« on: November 30, 2008, 07:02:35 PM »

Dear All:

I'm a newbie to the world of SW radios and am primarily interested in purchase one or two smaller units for the use in a "BOB" (Bail Out Bag) type situation.    Of course, where this "first purchase" leads to in not yet known, i.e. maybe I'll become a SW enthusiast?  Wink

I live in a big city and there as been a rise in violence and other types of emergency situation in recent years.   Living here as one person and my dog, i'm increasingly thinking about the need to have a "bag" available to me to "grab and go" should it come to that.

as the bag would include many objects including food, it will likely be heavy, so lightweight is an important attribute.

i'd like to ask for permission to post in your "Misc" forum to ask experts for feedback on the options/models available to me.    i have done substantial research but would like, at this point, to ask for feedback/advice.

1st Group:  Small and relatively inexpensive at ~$29:
http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/4761

2nd Group:  Bigger and superior but obviously heavier (2 main options in this group):

http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/4288

http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/5071

3rd Group:  Bigger with hand crank (many feel this is a gimmick rather than realistically a good for BOB type use):

http://www.jr.com/eton/pe/ETO_FR350ARC/

- MOST "popular" bestseller radio, is this the "best" option?
http://www.kaitousa.com/KA1102.htm

reviews of the "1102" bestseller:

http://www.eham.net/reviews/detail/4226

http://www.radiointel.com/review-degende1102.htm