Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Multiple antennas  (Read 394 times)
JHZR2

Ignore
« on: January 26, 2009, 08:05:51 PM »

Please bear with me on this one, Im just learning.

Say I want to be able to work on multiple frequencies... say 70cm, 2m, 10m, 20m, 40m

Or some other similar combination.

Obviously there is no one antenna fits all.  Far from it.

If you have one base unit, how do you set it up so that you use the right antenna for the right frequency, both for sending and receiving???
N6NKN

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2009, 08:57:20 PM »

Some UHF and VHF antennas are dual band or triband antennas. For the HF bands antennas can be monoband or multiple band depending on the design. If you have multiple antennas there is a device called an antenna switch. You simply switch to the antenna you want to use.

Rick N6NKN  
KB9CRY

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2009, 04:50:18 AM »

They do make multi-band antennas that "automatically" switch themselves.

And the antenna switch with a little label above each position is the other way.

Very simple.
WW5AA

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2009, 05:50:19 AM »

I use a 252' doublet for 160-6 meters, I have a modified 5BTV for 160-6 meters, Inverted "L" for 160-6 meters, A3S modified beam for 40-10 meters 4 element beam for 2 meter APRS, VHF/UHF vertical for everything else. All HF antennas to a B&W 6 position antenna switch. The problem is that I get a nose bleed at anything higher than 40 meters (:-)

73 de Lindy
NA0AA

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2009, 04:36:08 PM »

Well, most of my VHF/UHF antenna are dedicated to a specific radio so they don't get switched:  Discone to the scanner, dual VHF/UHF to the FM mobile base station, etc.