The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Used Equipment boxes  (Read 2072 times)
KB6DWO

Ignore
« on: October 25, 2009, 09:53:05 AM »

I have been buying and selling Ham radio gear on Ebay for a few years now. I can't believe the number of questions I get about the "Original Box".  Can anyone out there tell me why the "Box" is such an important thing to hams?  Does it increase or decrease the value of the equipment? Maybe I'm missing somehting but it's just a box to me. When I buy a radio, I'm looking to make sure it works and that I'm getting a good deal not  for the box it came in.

Thanks
KB6DWO
K4GXS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2009, 10:28:14 AM »

Beats the 'mud' out of me !!  I have always wondered about that too but if you don't have the box you can expect to take a mark down !!

I guess the theory is you can get an idea of how old or well treated a piece of gear was by it's completeness and hence it's value ?

Maybe somebody is afraid of buying gear stolen out of somebody's shack ??

I guess it's true that a burglar wouldn't take the time to find the box and pack it up very neatly with all of it's accessories...ha !!
KG4RUL

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2009, 11:20:54 AM »

Because the packing in the "original box" is specifically designed to properly protect that particular piece of gear.  I still have the box for my TS-2000(X) and I will be using it to ship it off for service.  I have a lot of confidence that, with the original box in an outer box, my radio will make the trip and return without damage.
NO2A

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2009, 11:30:11 AM »

One reason is the original box besides being the proper size,has the serial number of the radio on it. Other than that i dunno.  :-)
K7UNZ

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2009, 05:55:16 PM »