The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Auto Glass batch formulations and dielectric properties for thru-glass antennas  (Read 2455 times)
AA4N

Ignore
« on: April 17, 2017, 07:57:21 AM »

Hi all...   Name here is Mike.

I saw some discussion in another thread about whether changes in the formulation of auto glass have changed the efficacy of the capacitive coupling in thru-glass antenna mounts.   I didn't want to hi-jack that thread, so I thought I would start a new one.

As it turns out, I work in a factory that builds auto glass.  So, I am fairly familiar with the subject.  Full disclosure:  The plant I've worked in for the last 25 years doesn't actually melt the sand.  We cut/grind/paint/bend/temper/laminate and such.   This is known in the biz as a "fab" plant, as opposed to a "float" plant (which is where the sand gets melted).  I started out as an engineer, but now I'm just a computer nerd.

However, I know some guys that work with the float lines and other guys that work in antenna development (that is, the screen printed antennas that tend to be at the top of the back glass and sometimes quarter windows).

Anyway, here's some info that I though might be of interest;

There was a major shift in formulation of the glass (in North America) back in the mid-late 90's.   The industry switched from what we called "green" tint to what is now called "solar" tint.    I'm not talking about the dark tinted glass that many vehicles have behind the "B-pillar".  I'm talking about windshields and front door glass.  (they aren't actually clear, they have a slight green tint to them).  When we switched to solar-tint, the look of the glass didn't change much.  It's actually ever-so-slightly darker than the old green-tint, but not so much that you would notice.