Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems with VHF Handheld during helo ops  (Read 620 times)
JASEMCKEE

Ignore
« on: February 28, 2002, 12:21:08 PM »

Hello all,

First time poster, great site.

I work as a Radio Operator Offshore and we have a slight problems with our two handhelds that the Helicopter landing office uses during helo ops.

Before the helo lands on the heli deck, we have perfect comms with the landing officer, as soon as the helicopter lands, the landing officers radios begin to break up and he becomes unreadable.

I think that it may have something to do with the headset microphone that he is using. Its a David clark amplified dynamic microphone. This has only started happening recently and it happens when we use either of the headsets. Would the wind turbulence from the helicopters rotors cause the distortion, we are totally stumped with this one and would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance.
KC0HBM

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2002, 12:30:05 PM »

"....landing officers radios begin to break up and he becomes unreadable. "

I know it may be hard to tell, but do you think the radio is transmitting but the audio is breaking up? (distorted)  Or is the audio okay but the transmitter is broken? (like someone randomly keying and un-keying the radio while talking)

You also mention that the interference begins when the helo is on the pad... does it actually have to be touching the pad or can it be just a few inches/feet above the pad for the interference to begin?  If the pad is conductive metal then prehaps there is a strange conducted RFI phenomenon going on here.  

Thats about all I can brainstorm for now, I hope it helps a bit.

Mark
KC0HBM
JASEMCKEE

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2002, 12:54:57 PM »

Mark,

Thanks for your help, the problem gets worse as the helo gets closer to the rig.