Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Backpacking with a rig  (Read 1754 times)
KC7HBP

Ignore
« on: December 05, 2001, 05:47:35 PM »

I have been a ham for a while (although not serious) and have just picked up another hobby, backpacking. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions to a HT that is light but has a long battery life. Part of my backpacking will be taking me into deep valeys, should I get a HT with 6M capabilities so I can get out of the hole? I figured having a radio would be a good idea when out on a 7 day trip... Smiley
I am a Tech. so a HF rig won't do me any good.
KL7IPV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2001, 05:56:53 PM »

Au contraire......as a tech can't you can get on 10 meters voice? If you plan on upgrading to get to HF it wouldn't be unreasonable to get a suitable HF rig now. Christmas is close too!  Look at FT-100 or IC-706 for a nifty backpacker rig or the FT-817 made specifically for backpacking. Look at my article (shamelessly self serving) at: http://www.eham.net/articles/2291 Good luck .
Frank
KL7IPV
KL7IPV

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2001, 05:57:26 PM »

Au contraire......as a tech can't you can get on 10 meters voice? If you plan on upgrading to get to HF it wouldn't be unreasonable to get a suitable HF rig now. Christmas is close too!  Look at FT-100 or IC-706 for a nifty backpacker rig or the FT-817 made specifically for backpacking. Look at my article (shamelessly self serving) at: http://www.eham.net/articles/2291 Good luck .
Frank
KL7IPV
KC7HBP

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2001, 07:01:34 PM »

Those look like some nice rigs, but "just a little" out of my price range. I am looking for something under $300 (and preferably under $200).
I guess I had forgotten about the 10M voice. I will have to look into that. Thanks.
AA8LL

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2001, 12:29:44 AM »