Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobile install newbie questions  (Read 1116 times)
KG4NEL

Ignore
« on: January 25, 2003, 10:18:23 PM »

Hi-

I'm in the process of my first mobile install, in a '94 Ford E-150 van. Radios will be a IC-706 and a 2m/70cm FM rig. Eventually, I'd like to get a screwdriver antenna with an automatic controller.

For both safety and flexibility in adding future equipment, I'd like to use 6AWG or 8AWG wire, directly connected and fused from the battery. Obviously, I'm going to have to splice the fuse wires and the wires going through the firewall together. Like I said before, I've never done a mobile install before, so what would be the correct way to splice these wires together?

Also, what would be the recommended way to distribute power to several radios once I get it through the firewall? I can't seem to find terminal strips or fuse blocks rated for 6AWG wire...

Thanks for any help,

Jim
KG4NEL

KC0LPV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2003, 01:18:38 AM »

Though I am sure a more experienced poster will chime in soon, I will post my thoughts.

I am in kind of the same boat as you, doing my first mobile amateur radio install.  What caught my eye recently was the power distribution systems used by the "ridiculously loud stereo guys".

They get serious about large gauge wire, and use fairly high quality metal distribution blocks that can take large gauge wire, and have built in fuse locations.

I'm thinking that $40 spent on parts in the local boom-stereo store will pay off in not having to cobble together basically the same thing from parts.

Jim
N8EMR

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2003, 08:32:21 AM »