Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Questions from a new ham  (Read 635 times)
WAITINGONTICKET

Ignore
« on: January 27, 2004, 06:24:22 PM »

Hello all,
I am going to take my tech. exam Feb. 3. So you guessed it, another newbie with stupid questions!! well your right. ha ha. OK here goes. I have been looking at the Yaesu FT-8800R 2m/440 MHz. I will run it mobile b/c i spend LOTS of time in my car. First i DO NOT need a duplexer for this rig, correct?? I want only 1 dual band antenna. This brings up the second question...what dual band MAG MOUNT antenns would you folks recommend. I know this question is only of personal option, but as i have said, i am new to ham radio. Just some ideas is what i am looking for. Going to put the order in to HRO in a few days for the radio, antenna, and mount. Thank you all for helping out.
Steve
OBSERVER11

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2004, 09:29:31 PM »

mag mount = NONE!

But if you must.... a Larsen 2/70 has always been a solid performer.
K7IHC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2004, 04:07:59 AM »

I second the recommendation of the Larsen 2/70 NMO antenna for 2m/70cm dual-band mobile use.  A mag mount would be my last choice in a mount.  OK for rental car use or on a friend's car for temporary use.  Mag mounts can fall off due to wind and overhead obstructions and can scratch the paint.  They also require you to find a feed-through point that might be less than desireable (water leaks/wind noise) and hard on the co-ax.  If you're going to keep your car for awhile, don't be afraid to drill a hole in it for a solid NMO mount.  I have three such mounts in the trunk lid of my 1998 Honda Accord.
WAITINGONTICKET

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2004, 12:52:41 AM »

Thanks guys,
Steve
WAITINGONTICKET

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2004, 12:53:15 AM »

Thanks guys,
Steve
WAITINGONTICKET

Ignore