Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is 12 VDC good enough?  (Read 1026 times)
KC2MMI

Ignore
« on: January 30, 2004, 01:42:59 AM »

I'm looking at buying a mobile radio (Yaesu FT-857 or ICOM 706MkIIG) for mobile and home use. In the car, no problem, I've got power wiring for it.

But I'm wondering, will they work OK with a nominal 12VDC power supply (just pulling more amperage) or will they really perform best with a matching 13.8VDC power supply?

Are these radios internally regulated to the nominal 12VDC? Or should I plan on a real 13.8VDC supply for them?

KC8AXJ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2004, 02:33:20 AM »

Per their spec:

Power supply requirement: 13.8 V ± 15%

That would be 11.73 V at the lowest, so as long as your O.K. with the amps required(20)and hold volatage, I would say it should work.
But I'm no expert.

Steve

KC8AXJ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2004, 02:38:28 AM »

Above is Icom 706

Yaesu:

same voltage but you'll need 22 amps at full power.
N7NBB

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2004, 10:43:00 AM »

The power supply MUST supply the correct AMPERAGE, in your case up to 20 Amps, and also be able to do so CONTINOUSLY if you are into MODES of operation that require LONG transmit cycles (RTTY, SSTV,some DIGITAL MODES, etc). Some supplies ADVERTISE they are 20 amp supplies, but in reality they can only provide 20 amps for a very short period of time, and have LONG duty cycles ( short high current draw (transmit) followed by a LONG low amp draw (receive)

The supply does not have to say "ICOM" or "YAESU" or whatever (a matching supply)... it can be built or sold by another manufacturer.  Most (good) supplies are designed to provide 13.8 at the rated current draw..

Hope that helps some

CAM

KC2MMI

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2004, 12:38:45 PM »