Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SWR help on FORD Winstar  (Read 447 times)
K6PDU

Ignore
« on: May 14, 2004, 06:53:46 PM »

I am fairly new to ham radios so I yet again have another question.  I have a 2m mag mounted antenna and a Icom V8000.  The antenna is a 5/8 wave.  I hooked it up to the Diamond SWR 40c, put it on low power and the SWR read 4.  I changed the location on the car kept retuning the antenna.  Than for some reason I decided to set the transiever and the SWR meter to high power and it read a solid 3.  Is there any way to improve the SWR.  Or am I just doomed for the time being until I can get the antenna you drill in?  Thanks for help....!
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2004, 09:16:51 AM »

I must say I don't like mag mounts, but it isn't because they have high VSWR. You can not rely on ANY internal SWR bridge to give you a true indication. An external meter like a Bird will get you closer.

The best was is to beg, borrow, or steal an MFJ 259B or 269 and check the antenna with it. Then you'll know the actual input impedance and what the resonant point is.

Most out-of-the-box Larsen antennas will be very close using the cutting chart included with the antenna, if there is one. Some of their antennas don't require any cutting.

Alan, KØBG

CROOKIE

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2004, 01:37:32 PM »

Why can you not rely on internal SWR meters? small physical size/low accuracy? Physical location in the circuit? Other?

On the Winstar is the SWR about equal a both end of the band? Is it possible there's a bad connector/connection at one end of the cable. I'm trying to learn!