Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobile Installl in 97 GMC Sierra Crew Cab  (Read 361 times)
KE7DJQ

Ignore
« on: April 28, 2005, 05:50:39 PM »

I haven't bought one yet, but am considering either an Icom 208H, Kenwood G707A or FT 8800R.  However, I have no experience installing one of these.  Where do I find some good info on how to do this?

I also would like to use whichever one I buy as a home station.

Any help would be appreciated.
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2005, 06:47:24 AM »

You can wade through a few articles on my web site for one.

Probably the most important thing you can do is to purchase a good-quality antenna, and properly mount it. Forget about looking for inflated gain figures and stick to a tried and true antenna. The most popular VHF mobile antenna is the NMO2/70 dual bander from Larsen. When properly mounted (this requires a 3/4" hole), it is waterproof even with the antenna removed, and will out perform just about any other antenna you can name.

A secondary aspect of your selection should be, can the radio be remotely mounted? This is important as today's vehicles have little room for full-sized radios. As for the brand, pick the one which meets your needs, not someone else's.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com

K8JDC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2005, 03:23:53 PM »

I recently bought my first mobile VHF/UHF radio.  I had previously been using an Icom 706MKIIG for this, but wanted the freedom of running full-time VHF/UHF while also running HF.  In any event, I compared the various radios available and bought the FT-8800R.  I have only had it a couple of months so far, but I have no complaints.