Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: what size screw  (Read 2166 times)
KB2MS
Member

Posts: 19




Ignore
« on: June 30, 2005, 04:52:43 AM »

lost the screw that grounds the 0pc 581 to the icom 706.  this acts as a ground so no rf gets into the radio. please help
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9899


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2005, 05:29:35 AM »

Good luck, they are hard to find. It is a 2mm screw, and most Ace Hardware stores carry it. Be careful, as it is just 3mm long. Any longer and you run the chance of touching the circuit board inside. If you can find one, use a pan head screw. If not, a round head and a very small lock washer will work.

You're correct about the screw grounding the cable. Lots of folks miss the screw , loose it, or just don't install it and end up with all sorts of RFI problems. The major one is shutting down if the power is over a certain level.

Alan, K0BG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4536


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2005, 06:15:23 AM »

What you're looking for is an 'M3', phillips panhead screw, 3mm long.  I've discovered that most consumer electronics gear is held together with metric screws and have found a host of M3 (and other sized) hardware by salvaging dead PC monitors, power supplies, VCR's, etc.

Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
Logged
KL7IPV
Member

Posts: 984




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2005, 09:25:19 PM »

Check at Lowe's as well. I have found some odd sized screws there, even the ones I needed for the Icom to mount on the mobile mount (7mm).
73,
Frank
KL7IPV
Logged
KB2MS
Member

Posts: 19




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2005, 06:25:56 PM »

Alan tnx I replaced the screw, and no more rf shut down.  73 mark kb2ms
Logged
K2MFW
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2012, 01:20:44 PM »

Look at the hard plastic feet in the front of the rig, that holds the tilt bar. There are 4 screws that hold these 2 feet to the rig. Remove one and use it for the seperation cable screw to ground the cable properly to the 706 chassis. You don't need the screw for the feet, missing one is perfectly fine. It's a perfect fit for the hard to find screw that everyone's talking about here.
Logged
W9PMZ
Member

Posts: 577


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2012, 10:08:43 PM »

look in the junk computer for this screw...
Logged
KI4SDY
Member

Posts: 1452




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2012, 01:10:32 AM »

A local Fastenal industrial shop can get any screw, if Ace Hardware does not have it.  Wink
Logged
KC3L
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2012, 10:23:24 PM »

I think Home Depot might carry it length might be a problem.

Lee KC3L
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!