Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 18 Wheeler HF Multiband Antenna Options  (Read 878 times)
KB5TJ

Ignore
« on: December 22, 2006, 07:51:56 PM »

First, an quick intro -- I've dabbled in Amateur Radio since my initial license about 25 yrs ago, which led to a 15+ year career as a commercial Merchant Marine operator. I'm not a degreed engineer, but I've been around the block a few times in the field, so to speak ;-)

Project is to mount the most efficient radiator, within cosmetic limits, on a semi truck for ops from 20M down to 40M (I'd like the latter to be somewhat better than a radiating dummy load). 80M would be a nice luxury. I own the truck so holes are not a problem.

Transmitter is a Yaesu Ft-857D. No linear. From what I recall and from what I've read recently (I've been out of the loop, so to speak, for quite a few years), the best options are a 102" whip coupled to an FC-40, or one of the full size 'screwdrivers' (a Hi-Q or a High Sierra, the latter being favored due to height restrictions).

A 102" whip I could mount on the side. See photo at http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v288/sparks19/side.jpg

The cab is all fiberglass, with a few aluminum stringers here and there, with an aluminum bottom pan (floorpan) about at the white circle (dot). From what I gather, this would work 20M okay, and 40M somewhat. As to counterpoise, the aluminum floorpan of the truck is roughly 8 ft wide by 10 ft long. Bonding this to the twin frame rails, which are about 23 ft long, probably make a better counterpoise than the average car. Frame rail height above ground is very roughly 2 feet, probably giving me an advantage (capacitance-wise) over the average car. The truck is DC-coupled to the trailer, which is an interesting animal -- 53 foot long, but with mostly a wooden floor (with steel or aluminum side-to-side stringers) and otherwise aluminum sides and roof.