Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: VHF/UHF Problems in Chevy 2500HD Diesel?  (Read 2526 times)
N7PZI
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: March 27, 2007, 08:45:54 AM »

I'm about to install my Kenwood TM-731-A tri-bander (144/222/440) into my '03 Chevy Silverado HD equipped with the Duramax diesel.  In this age of computerized engines and other systems, I'm wondering if anyone has done this successfully or has had any problems with their radios(s)in a similar rig.  I also plan to install HF later this year.

Dave- N7PZI
Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 08:56:12 PM »

Check out www.k0bg.com. Alan may have your answer.

FWIW, I run 50w on 2m/440, 100w on 6m and 100w on 80-10 and have no problems with RF getting into the various computers on my '03 Windstar.

73,

Lon - W3LK
Baltimore, Maryland
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
N7PZI
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2007, 07:30:53 AM »

Thanks for the info, Lon.  I got an e-mail from KD4EUH who had HF/VHF and UHF in the same truck I have only his is a couple of years newer.  Based upon his experience, I should encounter no problems.

Dave - N7PZI
Logged
WX9DX
Member

Posts: 77




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2017, 07:00:29 PM »

I have an IC7000 in a 2016yr  Chevy 2500HD with a 6ltr gas engine. RFI PROBLEMS on HF!

 It has all the goodies in the dash! It plays fine at full power of 100watts from the amp under the back seat on two meters with a dual band mag mount on the roof. And at 440MHz it is just fine with the 35 watts the radio puts out.

 Where I have a problem is with the Predator Screwdriver on the drivers side rear, I get into the break system Anti Lock Breaking system failure indicator and stable track warnings on the dash when I transmit on HF over 50 watts. If I stay at 50 watts it only does it when I press the break while transmitting RF. Cry So if anyone can help figure that out please e-mail me. I'm good here and on QRZ.com

 The truck problem on HF has about drove me nuts and I have spent tons on RF clip on chokes. I tried 20 of them on wires in the back bumper area. Even the backup camera screws up while transmitting on HF. So I put a few Clip on chokes on it and that was at no avail. So I am pulling my hair out. I have had nothing but Chevy trucks and this 2016 is one that is not HF Ham Radio friendly. It has been nothing but a problem. I am afraid to even hook up my amp thinking it might kill this $50K truck! Great Job Chevy making this crap, sorry but never before has Chevy had a problem with any of my HF Ham Radio or Police radios in my trucks. But now this sucks. OBI WAN YOUR MY ONLY HOPE! I have worked on radio equipment all my life and have seen all kinds of stuff but I don't want to have to spend more money or time on this unless I know that it might really work.


Oh and Chevy said unless it is a warranty issue they will have nothing to do with this problem! That came from the Dealership Rep from a phone call he made to them.

I am not ego based enough to say I know everything, I don't and never will! Especially in the field of electronics I'm not a know it all! And this is in my field before I retired but this truck is kicking my A...

73 Jimmy, ARRL TS, WX9DX
« Last Edit: January 20, 2017, 07:11:56 PM by WX9DX » Logged
KD4UPL
Member

Posts: 21




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2017, 06:45:03 PM »

I've run VHF/UHF FM in my 2005 Chevy diesel for over 10 years. I have no problems with any interference. I ran HF for a while and didn't have very good results but that was with a poor antenna (ATAS-100) at a poor location (mirror). I think if I had a better set up there would have been less noise on HF.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 12091




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2017, 03:33:23 AM »

I'm about to install my Kenwood TM-731-A tri-bander

Wow that's a oldie...  I have not see one of those for many years. Kinda a museum piece and bigger than modern ones. I have another oldie, a TM701. It was Kenwoods first compact dual bander. I still use it and it is still in like new condition.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!