Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 rigs 1 antenna?  (Read 495 times)
KE5JJK
Member

Posts: 11




Ignore
« on: April 16, 2007, 09:08:14 PM »

I run a syntor 9000 (fireman) and a V8000 in my F250.  Last weekend the antenna (mag mount) for the 8000 suffered catastrophic failure when my son moved it to acces the toolbax and forgot to put it back.
So... instead of replacing it, can I run 2 rigs into 1 antenna?  I would rather tune it for the amature band, as the fire band in 90% recieve so I can monitor our freq, and legally call in that I'm responding.
Logged
K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4536


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2007, 06:10:44 AM »

What band does the Syntor operate on?

Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 13032




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 06:20:58 AM »

If one radio is in the UHF band and the other in the VHF band then you could use a dual band antenna and a diplexer to connect them both. The problem is that both the antenna and the diplexer will probably be a custom design. The stock stuff that you'll find from amateur dealers are designed to work in the VHF and UHF ham bands and your commercial frequency is probably too far off to work correctly.

If both radios are in the same band then you will have to use two antennas.

Two antennas is probably the easiest solution anyway.

It doesn't matter much that your commercial use is 90% receive. The 10% of the time that you do transmit requires that the antenna be properly matched to the transmitter.
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9899


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2007, 06:27:21 AM »

You shouldn't be using a mag mount for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is safety.

Properly installed NMO mounts don't leak, and don't distract from the trade in value.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

KE5JJK
Member

Posts: 11




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2007, 07:19:57 AM »

The syntor is on 154.370.
Logged
K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4536


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2007, 09:05:26 AM »

Two antennas.  Not many ways around it.  Unless you can find someone that would program 2M frequencies into your Syntor for you, and leave the V8000 out altogether.

Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!