Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: VX-7R Memory Confusion  (Read 1409 times)
AB3MT
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« on: July 16, 2007, 03:06:39 PM »

I was wondering what I was doing wrong. I programmed my VX-7R with the computer program. Now I can't figure out how to change settings to channels in memory on the fly such as PL tones and DCS codes everytime I set it and change the channel it reverts back to the original programming. What am I doing wrong?
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 9878


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2007, 06:47:59 PM »

I don't think there is ANY computerized radio that is easy to program. But ... One solution is here: www.niftyaccessories.com

I don't have any affiliation with these folks, but I can tell you their manuals simplify the procedure; If for no other reason, they're written in English, instead of Engrish!

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4506


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2007, 07:51:43 PM »

After changing the PL you need to re-write the memory location, as any changes you make directly are temporary.  If you switch channels and go back without specifically saving the new data, it will just recall what you originally programmed in.

Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
Logged
AB3MT
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2007, 04:48:43 AM »

Any idea how you re-write the memory location. I can't figure it out. I have read the manual and searched for the solution on the net and I can't find it. I know how to make a new channel in memory but to re-write one I just can't get the channel in memory to stay the way I changed it.

Logged
KB1LKR
Member

Posts: 1898




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2007, 06:56:34 AM »

With Yaesu's FT-60 you hold the F/W key down for >1 second, select a ch # to save to (or let it save to next free # -- not what you want in this case), then press F/W again to write. It is probably similar for the VX-7. It's easy to make a change (e.g. power level) and then forget to rewrite though.

Yaesu has their manuals online as .pdf's if you lack a copy.
Logged
N8MME
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2007, 10:35:26 AM »

You have to make any changes while the radio is in the VFO mode.  Then write that into the memory channel number that you originally had for the frequency you want to change.
Logged
AB3MT
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2007, 01:35:54 PM »

Storing a Frequency in a Regular Memory Channel

In VFO mode, set up the radio for the signal you want to use, including frequency, tone, and power. You can store these into any of 450 memory channels, for easy recall. Note: this radio has a number of other types of memory channels; here we use only the "regular" channels.

•  Press and hold Mon F (keypad, upper left) for ½ second. Release an IMMEDIATELY rotate the Dial knob (top of the radio, right side, below the narrower volume knob) to select the memory channel.
An asterisk * next to a channel number means that the channel is currently empty. A channel number without the asterisk has setting stored in it; you will overwrite those if you select that channel to store.

•  Press Mon F again to store the settings.

•  You will be returned to VFO mode.

Logged
N8MME
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2007, 05:15:37 AM »

Then you press the V/M key again and you will be back in the memory mode at the channel that you just altered.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!