Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hustler Mobile HF SWR  (Read 590 times)
WS7X

Ignore
« on: August 21, 2007, 03:07:40 PM »

I've been using the hustler resonators for mobile HF for many years with good results on at least 3  vehicles I've owned. Recently, I got a new truck and transferred the hustler, (I use the 4' mast) to a 2006 Dodge Ram 3500 diesel pickup. And although my installation works, I've not been able to get as good an SWR match as with previoius installations.  I'm guessing that the location I've chosen is the main culprit of the poor SWR, (right behind the cab) and I'd probably get better results if I moved the antenna to the rear of the bed.  But that's not an option because I pull a goosneck trailer and so the back of the bed is out.  

I'm looking for a way to improve the SWRs for 20 40 and 75 meters in particular. Anyone know of way to improve the SWR of the hustlers?  
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2007, 04:13:33 PM »

The first thing you need to do is find out what the input impedance is. An SWR bridge won't tell you that. For example, a 2:1 SWR could mean the input is either 25 or 100 ohms.

Due in part to the antenna being close to the body, there is additional stray capacitance between the mast and the body. This increases ground losses, and raises the input impedance.

What you need is an MFJ 259b antenna analyzer. If you can't afford one, try to borrow one from a friend.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com

WS7X

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2007, 10:36:34 PM »

K0BG Thanks for your reply.  Ok it's easy enough to get my hands on a 259B and measure the impedance.   So how would I go about getting the impedance close to 50 ohms.  I"m assuming that's where you're going.

K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2007, 06:01:05 AM »

Most of what you need to know is on my web site under Matching.