Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help me choose - FT8900 or FT 857D  (Read 2064 times)
KD8HMB

Ignore
« on: January 10, 2008, 06:37:33 AM »

I have an Icom 2200H currently installed in my car, but cant really find a good mounting spot due to the interior layout. I intend to replace it with at least a dual band 144/440 unit, but see that there is always something a bit more to be had for more cash. So - the dual band FT8800R plus remote is $370, but for a bit more the FT8900R plus remote is "only" $412.
Of courese, for just a few hundred more I can get the "all-purpose" FT857D with remote for $870.
I have to admit I dont really have a clear purpose to the upgrade since I'm new to all of this, but I would hate to buy a rig and them later find out that I should have gotten the other one for just a bit more.
On the one hand, I like the idea of the simplicity of the FT 8800R, yet I know that one day I will upgrade to the general class and want HF, too.
Your advice , please.  Thanks

Wally
KO1D

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 06:47:43 AM »

I have an FT8900 as my back up radio. I love it. It is very durable and has a very good front end (meaning stupid pagers do not get in as easily on that rig as others.

I have owned an FT857d and had no luck with the thing at all. I understand I am the exception to the rule but still no joy for me.

The 8800 is a good radio (a couple friends have them) but you only have 2/440. If you have a thought that mobile HF or all mode V/UHF is for you then by all means go with the 857. If you just want to do V/UHF FM and someday get on 6M FM or 10m FM (if you have a General or Higher) then et the 8900. As the cycle improves 10m FM repeaters can get fun. Depending where you live there may be some 6m FM simplex or repeater activity worth looking into.