Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HELP!!! High SWR and a hamstick  (Read 985 times)
KE5ATE

Ignore
« on: February 04, 2008, 06:49:46 PM »

I'm new to hf radio. I've got an FT-897D and a tram 2mtr/440 antenna that works great (swr 1). I just got a workman 20 meter hamstick, I can not get the antenna to tune at all, the swr is 3+ no matter where I put the antenna, I tried putting it off of the right rear of the bumper and figured that maybe it was because there was no ground plane and tried moving it to a homemade mount screwed to the center front of the trunk lid and it is still the same, any ideas? bad antenna maybe?

KE5ATE
Allen
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2008, 05:38:30 AM »

Yes, visit my web site.

First of all, a low SWR has nothing to do with efficiency or suitability. It just means the input impedance where the coax connects to what ever device is measuring the SWR, is close to line Z.

One of the problems with the Hamsticks, and similar antennas, is the whip can slide down into the coil portion (the mast is hollow). This fact makes tuning difficult at best. While you can use an SWR bridge to adjust the resonant point, an antenna analyzer makes the job much simpler.

The resonant point, even for a 20 meter Hamstick is rather touchy. As little as 1/4 inch movement might be too much.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com

KE5ATE

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2008, 06:46:16 AM »

Hi Alan, thanks, I've tried moving the whip from all the way out to all the way in a half inch at a time and there was never any change at all in the SWR, I don't have access to a antenna analyzer.

KE5ATE
Allen
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2008, 09:04:38 AM »

1). Make sure there is continuity between the coax shield and the trunk lid. If there isn't, fix it.

2). Strap the trunk lid across both hinges. The trunk lid by itself isn't much a a image plane.