Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Longest Mobile Contact?  (Read 1857 times)
KC5VUW

Ignore
« on: February 25, 2009, 09:07:15 AM »

So I was just wondering.  What is longest mobile contact people have made?  My longest was about 4076 miles from Fayetteville, NC to Maldegem, Belgium this morning.  This was from my mobile to a fixed location.  I was running an Icom 706mkIIg with about 100 watts into a homebrew fullsized screwdriver.  How about you?

Tim Pettigrew (previously KC5VUW)
W5TWP
N4HRA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 10:44:08 AM »

While I was on the road as a Field Engineer I was on I85 in north east Ga and worked Russia, runing 100W with a Tempo 2020 going 75mph
W0FM

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2009, 10:55:06 AM »

Longest mobile QSO for me??  Almost 2 hours.  

Enroute from Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri to my home QTH.

Terry, WØFM
K5LXP

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2009, 11:25:25 AM »

Furthest QSO worked Australia on 40M running 100W and a Yaesu ATAS (he had a quad beam).  Longest QSO was almost 3 hours on 40M CW between KC, MO and Des Moines on I-35 with a station in TX.  Most memorable, worked Poland on 12M with no one else on the band and on the drive back from Dayton one year snagged W1AW CW mobile on 20M, QRP.

Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2009, 11:32:55 AM »

Hummmm! Longest in terms of distance? Or time? Or longest in terms of boring subject matter?

I have worked Heard Island several times from various locations, all of which were about 12,000+ miles. This is about as far as you can talk from any two locations on the face of the earth.

I had one conversation in about 1975 which lasted for nearly 8 hours, including two stops for gas. But that doesn't hold a candle to two friends who traveled from Ohio to LA, and talked nearly the whole time.