Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: kenwood ts-440  (Read 1328 times)
VOODOO42

Ignore
« on: April 04, 2009, 11:46:09 AM »

I recently aquired a Kenwood ts-440. I am new to ham and don't know much about the radio. The Kenwood has worked great for the past week since buying;However, last night it started squelching out on its on. Almost like a gate or threshold might do. I am sure this isn't normal. after letting it power off for a while it seems to work properly again for several minutes and then happens again. I can scroll up a couple of bands and it opens up again. Also in Fm mode it does not happen. Just am usb and lsb.

I notced the fan was also not working. Didn't know if this fan comes on with the power or if it perhaps cuts on after reaching a certain temp. I am assuming not though. The radio does not get hot. I am basically just listening with no transmission. Any Ideas?

Thanks,
voodoo
VOODOO42

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 12:28:34 PM »

Also I can press the ATT button and that will allow it to open up again but only for a few seconds and then back quiet.
N3OX

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2009, 01:57:25 PM »

"last night it started squelching out on its on"

Does the display show ". . . . . . . . ." instead of numbers when it does that?

That's a very common problem and I think maybe even the sound goes out before the dots show up...

There are a number of circuits inside that don't age well... they potted them in some water-absorbing rubber stuff that causes trouble over time, and it's basically a sure thing that it will happen to the rig eventually.