Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Opening the TX/RX on Yeasu FT-8800R  (Read 8079 times)
TRIKSTR

Ignore
« on: August 07, 2003, 02:15:47 PM »

Has anyone done this?(eduactional only of course)
144-146MHz and 430-460MHz. This radio looks to be very similar to the FT-8900R.
N3ZKP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2003, 02:38:23 PM »

Why do you want to?

Other than some MARS VHF allocations (which you need a MARS license to operate on) there are no other frequencies on either side of the ham bands you can legally operate on.

Lon
WA4MJF

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2003, 04:58:19 PM »

Probably another cb'er that thinks he's
"tricky".

73 de Ronnie
TRIKSTR

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2003, 07:51:22 AM »

I'm just getting started in this and I've seen other mods for radios. Did you belittle them too?
Yours and the above post remind me of the airs that Flyfishermen put on about being better.
You did a nice job alienating me.
Thanks!

ps If I'd wanted to be 'tricky' I wouldn't have put my name(real).
N3ZKP

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2003, 10:03:43 AM »

Brian,

Please see my original post to you. What are you trying to do?

There are no VHF/UHF frequencies other than a few MARS allocations that you could legally use the modified radio on, and you need to be MARS licensed to use the MARS frequencies.

Yea, many of us are suspicious of no-call-sign postings asking for instruction to make amateur radios operate on non-amateur frequencies. By and large, this is illegal and the vast majority of hams will not knowingly help someone committ illegal acts.

Lon
TRIKSTR

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2003, 10:52:21 PM »