Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: qrp antenna ideas  (Read 1410 times)
KD5MMJ

Ignore
« on: January 28, 2001, 06:57:34 PM »

Howdy!  Right now Im a tech but in the process of upgrading.  I love to build electronics and the main reason of upgrading is building (qrp)radios rather than shelling fortunes for other equipment.

What kind of antenna should i put up? I cant do a dipole because my qth has very few trees and those are short (max 15 feet). plus it isnt pleasing to my folks to have wire flying everywhere. also there are power lines to the left of the house and in front.

any ideas for a commercial antenna (no beams, or towers, i dont have a lot of money) or maybe a stealth or indoor antenna?
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2001, 12:28:20 PM »

I've had good results with a wire loop around the edge of the roof
(often stapled to the inside of the facia boards, or tucked under
the shingles.)  Feed it with any sort of feedline to a tuner.  If you
can run the loop out to one or more trees, so much the better.
(The exact shape of the loop doesn't matter.)

A horizontal antenna up only 15' should still get you lots of QRP
contacts on 40 meters.  For the higher bands, a 16' to 20' vertical
on the roof - with switched matching networks at the base for each
band - is a good homebrew project, and capable of good results.
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2001, 11:25:53 AM »