Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Am I crazy?  (Read 1613 times)
KC8JDI

Ignore
« on: October 16, 2003, 05:13:17 PM »

Fellow Hams, I need guidance.  I am a no-code technician who is becoming disenchanted with the hobby.  VHF/UHF is starting to be boring to me.  I want to learn the code and am not afraid to do so.  But I also want to get into QRP.  Something about using my new code skills (once I get them) on a kit built TXCVR seems really cool to me.  But I have actually been discouraged by some from going this route.  Many have said that it will be too hard or that I should have more experience with code, etc before I delve into QRP.  I need your input.  I'm excited, I'm pumped up, but I also want to be realistic.  I have a REEEEAAAALLLYYYY long commute, so the code part will be easy.

Thanks a ton,

John
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2003, 05:45:27 PM »

Why in the world would anyone discourage you??  That's nutty.

It is true that QRP is a challenge, and is easier for experienced ops who know the ropes well, but when I think about it, my first few hundred contacts as a ham (age 13, in the mid-60's) were all made using QRP, whether I liked it or not.  Didn't have anything else!

CW is a "great equalizer," anyway.  It's a universal language that has no accents, and 5W of CW power usually does about as well as 20W PEP of SSB power, or 100W of AM or FM power, all else being equal.  I've worked into Spain from Los Angeles, using 100mW on 17m CW -- that's about "60,000 miles per Watt" or so.  Which is nothing even close to a record -- hams have worked a "million miles per Watt" (I haven't, but some have).

And kit building is one of the most fun aspects of the hobby -- nobody should ever discourage that!!

73 & good luck to you!

WB2WIK/6
KD7RQH

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2003, 11:08:14 PM »