Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 20m Problems....  (Read 2297 times)
W4WSW
Member

Posts: 23


WWW

Ignore
« on: July 28, 2007, 05:40:13 AM »

   Hi Guys, I will like to know if some body have the same problem that me, I have few rigs in my shack and I have a power supply connected to my IC-706MKIIG, the power supply is an Astron SS-30M, also I have my IC-756Pro, the problem is that every time that I key my 756pro in 20m something happen that turn off the astron power supply.

Is that RF problems or is just a bad power supply..?
How I can fix that..?

73's
Luis
W4WSW
Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2007, 07:46:18 PM »

99.9915 percent chance that RF is getting into the power supply.

Most likely  your feed line is radiating because of an improper antenna installation.

73,

Lon - W3LK
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
WW5AA
Member

Posts: 2086




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2007, 07:48:07 AM »

Yup, I agree with Lon, sounds like RF getting into the power supply.

73, de Lindy
Logged
K7KBN
Member

Posts: 3541




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2007, 01:37:55 PM »

Out of curiosity, what else is being powered off that power supply at the same time?
Logged

73
Pat K7KBN
CWO4 USNR Ret.
W4WSW
Member

Posts: 23


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2007, 06:25:23 AM »

   Anything else Pat just my 706 MKiiG, and before I had the problem with my IC-820 in diferent place, close to the shack but never I connect other devise in the same power supply.

   About the bad connection I dont think so, I have all my coax new and connector, and the other thing that I was thinking, why doesn't happend with other 3 power supply that I have in the shack?? and all of them are switching power supply.

  Thanks
  Luis
  W4WSW
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5688




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2007, 09:51:09 PM »

>>why doesn't happend with other 3 power supply that I have in the shack?? and all of them are switching power supply<<

Maybe one of them is more susceptible to RF than the other two are.  

Maybe that one is defective, too.  


.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!