Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: IC-7300 Adjustable Spectrum Scale  (Read 3838 times)
KA4DPO
Member

Posts: 296




Ignore
« Reply #45 on: May 23, 2016, 07:09:42 AM »

All owners of the IC-7300 know about the reference adjust for the Spectrum Scope to adjust the bottom level of the noise to keep it on the screen.  However what seems to be missing is the maximum displayed value which is adjustable in all SDR software. This allows the weaker signals to be seen.
 
I run all of my other SDR stuff with typically -50dB maximum value.  This seems to work well for the weaker as well as strongest signals at my QTH.   

Or am I missing something in the settings?


Yes you are missing a call sign and credibility.  Your recent review of the little Icom was nothing more than a poorly veiled jab and my guess is that you don't even own one.  I suspect you are one of the Flex fanboys who shill all over this site ad nauseum.  Sorry but by trying to hide behind a mailenator account it's just impossible to take you seriously.
Logged
M0GVZ
Member

Posts: 311




Ignore
« Reply #46 on: May 28, 2016, 07:03:49 AM »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOygcdEcRpE
Logged
KA4DPO
Member

Posts: 296




Ignore
« Reply #47 on: May 28, 2016, 09:53:43 AM »


That is a meaningless video.  The OVF issue is a dead horse, Flex, and Anan radios also overload at -10 dBm just like the Icom, so what.  The only difference is that the Icom has an indicator and the others don't.
Logged
N7ZO
Member

Posts: 8




Ignore
« Reply #48 on: May 28, 2016, 10:14:30 AM »

Just to correct some inaccurate information:

The Flex 6500 and 6700 overload at +9 dBM with preamps off according to Flex (Rob Sherwood measured it at +11 dBM IIRC).  The Flex 6300 overloads at +7 dBm with preamp off.

73, Bob, N7ZO
Logged
NK2F
Member

Posts: 52




Ignore
« Reply #49 on: May 28, 2016, 10:27:45 AM »

Just to correct some inaccurate information:

The Flex 6500 and 6700 overload at +9 dBM with preamps off according to Flex (Rob Sherwood measured it at +11 dBM IIRC).  The Flex 6300 overloads at +7 dBm with preamp off.

73, Bob, N7ZO

Yes, this is correct. Further, as Rob states, the Flex does need the preamp to hit its noise level of roughly -130 dBm. Without the preamp, the Flex's noise floor is roughly -110 dBm. In other words, you need the Flex's preamp.
Logged
KA4DPO
Member

Posts: 296




Ignore
« Reply #50 on: Yesterday at 08:09:02 PM »

Just to correct some inaccurate information:

The Flex 6500 and 6700 overload at +9 dBM with preamps off according to Flex (Rob Sherwood measured it at +11 dBM IIRC).  The Flex 6300 overloads at +7 dBm with preamp off.

73, Bob, N7ZO

Yes, this is correct. Further, as Rob states, the Flex does need the preamp to hit its noise level of roughly -130 dBm. Without the preamp, the Flex's noise floor is roughly -110 dBm. In other words, you need the Flex's preamp.

Correvt, and if you leave the preamp off you will not have any better weak signal response than the Icom.  Isn't that a pip.

My opinion of Flex has not changed.
Logged
W9OY
Member

Posts: 1616


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #51 on: Today at 12:30:06 AM »

My 6300 began to overload at +9 dBm and +12 on my 6500.  My antenna noise is louder than the noise floor on every band except 6M without a preamp but that's mostly due to a lousy 6M ant.  I tend to run my pre amp at +10dBm on 12M and 10M and +20 on 6.  On the low bands through 40M I run -10dBm because I get a flatter dynamic range with less band noise and better AGC activity.  On 30 20 17 and 15 I tend to run 0dBm gain depending on my antenna choice.  Because the panadapter is so good, it's very easy to discern overload in the panadapter, no need for a special light.  I've never seen it except when driving my radio from a signal generator.  It's quite distinct when it happens.  

My transmitting antennas are about 100ft from my broad band RX antennas.  Last month I was working 2 different DX peditions VK0EK on 40M and FT4JA on 160 at the same time.  That's the advantage of 4 slices.  Each station had its own dedicated RX slice locked onto its frequency, and I could click around the TX slice for each station anywhere in each pileup, using a separate skimmer for each station.  Both stations were only a couple dB out of my noise.  I was running full duplex on each station.  When I would transmit 1100W into a resonant 1/2 wave vertical calling VK0EK on 40M, I could hear FT4JA on 160M 2dB out of my noise no problem.  My band noise on 160M on the RX antennas is about -120 dBm (S1) and FT4JA was peaking -118 to-116 dBm (a little more than S1) and I was receiving him perfectly Q5 while I was transmitting 1100W on a antenna 100ft away.

You can bla bla bla all you want about the Sherwood numbers.  I never owned a radio before that can do what I just described.  

73  W9OY
« Last Edit: Today at 12:34:43 AM by W9OY » Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!