The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Power supply noise vs Phase noise (long)  (Read 677 times)
W4JCK

Ignore
« on: August 18, 2016, 01:51:59 PM »

Eham may not be the right venue for this, but I'll ask anyway.
First, let me stipulate that I'm not any kind of RF expert or guru on modern receiver design.  My tenure in the electronics field was primarily in data acquisition and conversion.  So I'm an RF hobbyist like all of us who have a ham license.

The basis for my question:  As techniques and test equipment advance, we're doing more analysis of the effects of various subsystems in our radios.  This can be evidenced in the way the ARRL has changed some of their methods and reflected in the much-ballyhooed Sherwood "list".  One aspect that gets a good deal of attention is noise.  We deal with a wide variety of noise in various forms as we use our HF radios.  Atmospheric noise tends to swamp a good bit of a radio's internal noise floor.  The area my question concerns is the oft referenced phase noise.  In any wide bandwidth system, noise levels affect the SNR of the system.  Now that we use A/D converters in our radios, the input span dynamic range can be affected by noise - lowering this range as a result of degradation of the SNR.

My question is simply this - what is the effect on phase noise, in our HF radios, that is caused by power supply noise?  I'm referring to conducted noise through the power supply leads.  This would include the noise from the power source in addition to any radiated noise picked up by the normally unshielded supply leads.