Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Station reality checks...  (Read 730 times)
KF4KLZ

Ignore
« on: September 29, 2005, 04:07:40 PM »

I am getting back into the game after a long hiatus - mainly due to work and $$$$.  I just bought an IC-706-MKIIG.  I used to use a ht and a homebrew groundplane antenna - the one in the arrl handbook.  Well, it was just 5w - now I have more watts!!

What should I be concerned about when using homebrew antennas with my new rig?  I don't want to blow it up.  I really enjoy making my own antennas and will continue to do so.  My next will ba a 2m/6m dual yagi.  

Secondly, how concerened should I be with putting in an RF ground?  I will not be on HF because I am only a tech.  

Anything else you all can suggest would be great.  I currently have the rig, aston 35a power supply and the homebrew antennas.

Thanks in advance!
Sean
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2005, 08:06:53 AM »

Unless your station is sitting on the ground, and probably outdoors on the ground, you'll never achieve an "RF ground" for your equipment on 6m or 2m.  Which doesn't matter, since you don't need one.

VHF antennas either include their own RF ground planes (such as a "ground plane" antenna does) or are normally installed so high above ground that they're ground independent; most any common VHF antenna design already includes an RF current return path.  In the case of a ground plane, it's the ground plane radials.  In the case of a beam, it's the other half of the driven element.

A station RF ground doesn't do a thing for VHF operations.