Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Solar Powered Station for new ham  (Read 1110 times)
GREG-STUDYING

Ignore
« on: April 26, 2006, 10:29:19 AM »

I was in the ham radio club in my freshman year of High school, but never got my liscense. My Dad got into it though, and I spent many weekends at field days and even did some real emergency work with him during some floods.  25 years later, my intrest is renewed, and I hope my son will join me in the hobby.

I am studying for my test, and I want to set up an HF base station at home. I have about $1000 (for everything)to spend. I like the looks of the icom IC-718, it looks like something I could use at home, and take with me on field trips.

Here is the catch. I live 'off the grid', and have limited power resourses (unless I fire the generator). I have a 1500 watt square wave inverter (trace) powered by 6 batteries charged by solar panels, and sometimes helped along with a 2000W honda generator when the sun is missing (I live in Northern WA state). This system has to power more than my radio, and I plan to beef it up in the future, but power use is an important issue in setting up my station.

One other note, I have to use power from the inverter (120V) because the collection site is 500 feet from the house, and we can't sent 12V that far without big losses. Should I be looking at a 10w radio like the IC-703plus, or will that not do the DX I hope to be able to cover. Any input would be appriciated.

Thanks,
Greg
K8AG

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2006, 01:54:49 PM »

The problem with the IC703, and the FT817 is that they draw a lot of power even when receiving.  The 817 lists something like 500mA receive current.  If you really want to save on power consumption while operating, you may want to shy away from the microprocessor controlled rigs.